GREATER HUNTSVILLE SECTION HOLDS ANNUAL AWARDS DINNER

Article and photos by Dr. Arloe Mayne

The Greater Huntsville AIAA Section held its 64th Annual Awards Dinner on May 27, 2016 at the Jackson Center in Huntsville, Alabama. The event was conducted by Mr. Brandon Stiltner, the Section's 2015-2016 Vice-Chairman and the 2016-2017 Chairman-Elect.



Bob Jones High School AFJROTC Color Guard

After Mr. Stiltner's welcome, the flags of the United States and the State of Alabama were posted by the Bob Jones High School AFJROTC, followed by the singing of the National Anthem by Ms. Arthurine Shackleford. An invocation by Mrs. Lisa Philippart and a toast by Mr. Stiltner preceded the evening's dinner.



Mr. Stiltner welcomes attendees

The invited speaker for the evening was Alabama Lieutenant Governor Kay Ivey. Lieutenant Governor Ivey is the 2016 recipient of the <u>AIAA Public Service Award</u>. Lieutenant Governor Ivey indicated her pride in the award by saying that "receiving this award which includes among its previous recipients Gene Roddenberry and Walter Kronkite caused me to feel that I was walking in very tall cotton."



Lieutenant Governor Ivey speaking



2015-2016 Chairman Polzin presenting certificate to Erica Hall

Following Lieutenant Governor Ivey's talk, Mr. Stiltner conducted the awards program, beginning with the recognition of the 7th grade student Erica Hall, winner of the AIAA Space Systems Technical Committee Section Essay Contest.

Sixth grader Sydney Hamilton, 12th grader Hamza Khan, and 12th grader Adam He were recognized as recipients of awards by the Section at the Alabama Science and Engineering Fair.

Fifth grader Pranav Ramesh was presented a certificate as the recipient of a Section award at the North Alabama Regional Science and Engineering Fair.



Chairman Polzin and Pranav Ramesh



Chairman Polzin and Benjamin Lattner

Benjamin Lattner of Tuscaloosa was awarded this year's \$1,000 Greater Huntsville Section Robert L. Sackheim Engineering & Science Scholarship. Fortyone scholarships totaling \$42,000 have been awarded since 2002.

An AIAA Sustained Service Award for "sustained, significant service and contributions to AIAA" was presented to Dr. Joseph Majdalani of Auburn University.



Chairman Polzin and Dr. Majdalani

AIAA Fellows are selected for notable and valuable contributions to aeronautics and astronautics, and only one Fellow per 1,000 members can be selected each year. Section members Mr. Steve Cook and Dr. Mark Whorton were recognized for being chosen as 2016 AIAA Fellows.

Two Section members were recognized for receiving AIAA awards for technical excellence: Dr. John Hanson for receipt of the deFlorez Flight Simulation Award, and Dr. Henry Brandhorst for receipt of the Aerospace Power Systems Award.



Dr. Hanson and 2016-2017 Chair Mr. Stiltner (Obviously not taken at the dinner, nor by Dr. Mayne)



Chairman Polzin and Dr. Brandhorst



Chairman Polzin and Mrs. Osborne

For the second year in a row, the recipient of the AIAA Engineer of the Year Award was a member of the Greater Huntsville Section.

Mrs. Robin Osborne was recognized as this year's recipient of the Engineer of the Year Award.

Each year an Awards Committee determines the recipients for the Section's awards which are presented at the annual dinner. This year's awards were presented by 2015-2016 Section Chair Dr. Kurt Polzin.

This was the first year that Undergraduate of the Year and Graduate Student of the Year Awards were presented. The recipient of the Undergraduate Student of the Year Award for 2016 was Mr. Mark C. Koren. He is a recent graduate of the University of Alabama who plans to pursue a Master's Degree at Stanford University.



Chairman Polzin and Mr. Koren



Chairman Polzin and Dr. Hitt

The recipient of the Graduate Student of the Year Award for 2016 was Dr. Matthew A. Hitt who completed his Ph. D. studies at UAH in May of this year.

The Ed Pruett Young Professional of the Year Award was presented to Dr. Naveen Vetcha. The award is named in recognition of Ed Pruett who was on the Section Council and served the Section for many years. Dr. Vetcha received his MS and PhD degrees from UCLA, and is employed at ManTech International Corporation.



Chairman Polzin and Dr. Naveen



Chairman Polzin and Mr. Moore

Mr. James D. Moore, Jr. was the recipient of the Earl Pearce Professional of the Year Award. This award is named for Earl Pearce who was on the Section Council and served as Supernumerary for many years. Mr. Moore received BS and MS degrees from the University of Alabama, and is employed at ManTech International Corporation.



Chairman Polzin, Mrs. Jackie Dannenberg, and Dr. Triggs

The Konrad Dannenberg Educator of the Year Award was presented to Dr. Eldon Triggs II. The award is named for Konrad Dannenberg, a German-American rocket pioneer who was an avid proponent of education, an active member of the AIAA and an inspiration to the aerospace community. Dr. Triggs received his Bachelor's and Master's degrees from Auburn University and his PhD from Tuskegee University. He currently teaches at Auburn University.

The Martin Schilling Award is presented to a Section member in recognition of outstanding service to the Section, such as major contributions to its growth, technical programs, or administrative functions. The award is named for the Section's founding president, Dr. Martin Schilling. The 2016 recipient of the Schilling Year Award was Dr. Kurt Polzin, who received his PhD from Princeton University and is employed at NASA MSFC.



2016-2017 Chairman Mr. Stiltner presents Schilling Award to 2015-2016 Chairman Dr. Polzin



Chairman Polzin and Mr. Lyles

The Holger Toftoy Award is presented to a Section member in recognition of outstanding technical management in the fields of aeronautics and astronautics. The 2016 recipient of the Toftoy Award is Mr. Garry Lyles. Mr. Lyles is a graduate of the University of Alabama, and is the Space launch System's Chief Engineer.

The Hermann Oberth Award is presented to a Section member in recognition of outstanding individual scientific achievement in the field of astronautics or for the promotion and advancement of the aeronautical sciences. This year's recipient of the Oberth Award was Dr. Winfred A. Foster. Dr. Foster received his PhD from Auburn University, and is a member of the Auburn University faculty.



Chairman Polzin and Dr. Foster

Following the Awards portion of the program, the Section's past year was reviewed, and a look was taken toward the 2016-2017 year.



2016-2017 Chairman Mr. Stiltner receiving Chairman's plaque from 2015-2016 Chairman Dr. Polzin

2015-2016 Chairman Dr. Kurt Polzin recognized the past year's Council members and provided a review of the Section's activities for 2015-2016. A detailed discussion of last year's activities can be found in the Section's Annual Report.

The Section's Officers and Directors for 2016-2017 were then recognized and incoming Chairman Brandon Stiltner provided remarks on his vision for the upcoming year. The Dinner was adjourned by Mr. Stiltner after the retrieval of the colors by the Bob Jones High School AFJROTC.



2016-2017 Section Officers and Directors